The Faculty of Journalism Mourns Professor Yassen Zassoursky, President of the Faculty of Journalism


CDD9C9AF-CA44-416E-A1AE-24D4A7923B74.pngProfessor Zassoursky had a distinguished career as Dean of the Faculty of Journalism from 1964 till 2007, Head of Foreign Journalism and Literature Department at the Faculty of Journalism, and President of the Faculty of Journalism. In 2018, Yassen Zassoursky was awarded the title of Honored Journalist of Russia for significant contribution to Russian journalism.

Professor Zassoursky had a long career in academia, researching and publishing works about theory and history of mass communication, American studies, history of American literature, transitional media models and comparative studies of media systems, information technologies and globalization. Professor Zassoursky was a leading figure in media studies. He published over 260 works, including monographs and numerous academic articles in Russian, English and other languages. He served as chief editor of Vestnik Moskovskogo Universiteta. Seriya 10. Zhurnalistika journal. He received a number of state awards. He also received Lomonosov awards for his research (1976) and for his teaching (2001) work.

Professor Zassoursky made a big contribution to building and maintaining international collaboration with universities from different countries, fostering student and faculty mobility and launching international projects with institutions from all regions of the world. In 1968, International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR) held its General Assembly in Pamplona, Spain. Yassen Zassoursky was elected vice president —the first Russian in the leadership. He also led the section on professional education (headed by Yassen Zassoursky and later by Kaarle Nordenstreng) and made significant contribution to UNESCO’s projects and activities.

The Faculty of Journalism will always remember his kindness, warmth, and dedication to academic excellence and progress.