Fast Facts about the Faculty of Journalism

fast facts.jpgFounded: 1947
Location: Moscow, Russia
Overall number of students: over 1300
Enrollment in 2016: 622 (416 undergraduate, 196 graduate)
Student population: 16% male, 84% female, from 5 countries
Per cent of students that do not pay for tuition: approximately 58%
Full-time faculty: 229 (186 lecturers including professorship, 43 researchers)  
Average class size: 20 people 

Academic departments:
Media Theory and Economics (Chair: Professor Elena Vartanova)
Foreign Journalism and Literature (Chair: Professor Yassen Zassoursky)
Periodical Press (Chair: Dr. Olga Smirnova)
Television and Radio Broadcasting (Chair: Dr. Andrei Ruskin)
Photojournalism and Media Technologies (Chair: Dr. Oleg Bakulin)
Sociology of Mass Communications (Chair: Professor Viktor Kolomiets)
Advertising and Public Relations (Chair: Professor Vladimir Gorokhov)
Theory and Methods of Editing (Chair: Dr. Olga Lashchuk)
History of Russian Journalism and Literature (Chair: Professor Ekaterina Orlova)
History and Statutory Regulation of Domestic Mass Media (Chair: Dr. Olga Minaeva)
Literary and Art Criticism and Publicism (Chair: Professor Nikolai Bogomolov)
Russian Language Stylistics (Chair: Dr. Vladimir Slavkin)
New Media and Communication Theory (Chair: Dr. Ivan Zassoursky)|
Media Linguistics (Chair: Dr. Pavel Balditsyn)

Zhurfak (журфак)
Color: Navy blue
Learn more about the Faculty of Journalism in the attached brochure